Home
About
Club News
Facilities
Newsletter
Upcoming Events
Links
Contact


 

  Rockville Fish & Game Club

 

Firearm Permit FAQ

Firearms and Pistol Permits
Private Detectives /  Investigators License
Watchman, Guard, or Patrol Service

Firearms and Pistol Permits

How do I get a permit to carry a gun for the State of Connecticut?

In order to get a State Permit to Carry Pistols and Revolvers you must first obtain a Local Permit. This includes applicants from out of State.

How do I apply for a Local Permit?

You must go to the Police Department or First Selectman of the town and get the application. The application has all the instructions necessary to obtain the permit. The cost of the permit is $35.00, and it generally takes eight weeks to obtain. 

Once I have received a Local Permit, how do I apply for a State Permit?

You can apply at the following State Police Troops or at the Department of Public Safety to fill out the application and have your photo taken. You must bring a copy of your Local Permit, a check or money order for $35.00, made out to D.P.S. and a current photo I.D., such as a drivers license.

Applications are available at:

  • Troop C in Tolland

  • Troop L in Litchfield

  • Troop E in Montville

  • Troop G in Bridgeport

  • Dept. of Public Safety in Middletown

Office hours at the Troops are Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday from 8:00am to 11:00am and 12:00 p.m. to 4:00pm. The office hours at D.P.S. are Monday through Friday.8:30am to 4:00pm.  

How do I change my address on my Pistol Permit?

You can either call (860) 685-8290, or mail a letter to the Department of Public Safety, Special Licensing and Firearms Unit, P.O. Box 2794, Middletown, CT. 06457. Change of address is required within 48 hours , and the letter should include permit number, name, date of birth, old address, and new address.

May I keep my Pistol Permit if I move out of state?

Yes, providing you notify the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit of the change of address, and continue to renew your permit.

How long is a Permit to Carry Pistols and Revolvers good for?

The permit is valid for 5 years from date of issue unless revoked or suspended. Who may purchase a handgun? Only those people who are Permit holders, Eligibility Certificate holders, or sworn Police Officers may purchase a handgun.

I am selling a gun to a friend. How do I do this, and is there any paperwork involved?

If you are selling a handgun, the purchaser must have a CT. Pistol Permit, Eligibility Certificate, or be a sworn Police Officer. You must call the toll free Gun Sale Authorization line at (888) 335-8438 and obtain an authorization number. The State forms DPS-67, and DPS-3 must be completed. If you are selling a long gun, the purchaser must fill out the DPS-67 and wait 14 days before the firearm can be transferred. The seller must send the completed form immediately to State and Local Police to start the 14 day waiting period. After the waiting period, the DPS-3 must also be completed. If the purchaser possesses a valid CT. Pistol Permit, CT. Hunting License, or is a sworn Police Officer or an active member of the U.S. armed forces, the waiting period and paperwork requirement is waived. In both cases, the seller must keep a copy of all related paperwork for 5 years.

What is considered an Assault Weapon in Connecticut?

Section 53-202a of the Connecticut General Statutes gives the definition, and an itemized list of what weapons are considered Assault Weapons. Who may possess Assault Weapons in Connecticut? Law enforcement and military personnel may possess Assault Weapons in connection with their official duties, and any person who has a Certificate of Possession issued by the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit may possess the Assault Weapon listed on their certificate.

Can I get a Certificate of Possession for my Assault Weapon now?

No. The only exceptions to this would be a person who has been out of state serving in the military since October 1994, or a person who receives an Assault Weapon through bequeath or intestate succession providing the weapon already had a certificate. In these instances, the person has 90 days to register the weapon with the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit.

I just moved into Connecticut and I possess an Assault Weapon. May I keep the weapon or if not what are my options?

Within 90 days of moving to Connecticut, you may sell the weapon to any licensed gun dealer, or you must do one of the following;

1) render the weapon permanently inoperable,

2) sell it to an out of state dealer,

3) relinquish the weapon to a law enforcement agency.

If you choose to keep the weapon you risk felony arrest.

I never registered my Assault Weapon, What are my options?

You can only render it permanently inoperable, sell it to an out of state dealer, or relinquish it to a law enforcement agency.

Can Connecticut gun dealers buy or sell Assault Weapons?

A licensed gun dealer may purchase any Assault Weapon that has a Certificate of Possession, or any Assault weapon that has been transferred into Connecticut as part of someone’s personal belongings for less than 90 days. The dealer may then sell them to other dealers, law enforcement agencies, or out of state.

Can Police Officers buy Assault Weapons?

No. Police Departments can buy them and give them to their officers to use, although the individual officers cannot buy Assault Weapons.

PRIVATE DETECTIVES / INVESTIGATORS LICENSE

How do I apply for a Private Detective or Investigators license in Connecticut?

The applicant for a private detective or investigator’s license shall be:

No less than twenty-five years of age; of good moral character; have had at least five years experience as a full time investigator either in the employment of a licensed private detective or investigator with a:

  • United States government investigative service;
  • Or a state or organized municipal fire or police department;
  • Or the Division of Public Defender Services;
  • Or shall have had at least ten years experience as a police officer with a state or organized municipal police department.

Employment as a watchman, guard or private patrolman SHALL NOT be considered as employment as an investigator. If the applicant is a corporation, association or partnership, the person filing the application in behalf of such corporation, association or partnership shall meet the qualifications set out herein for an individual applicant, and shall be an officer of such corporation, or member of such association or partnership. If the commissioner grants a private detective or investigator’s license to an applicant based on such applicant’s experience as an investigator with an organized municipal fire department, such license shall restrict such license to performing the same type of investigations as he performed for the municipal fire department.

To obtain a license you must:

  • Accurately complete an application, (DPS-366-C).
  • Two (2) recent photographs, 2"x 2", full face.
  • Enclosed fingerprint cards (State & FBI) with a Cashiers Check or Money Order only, for each set of fingerprints submitted, payable to the F.B.I. for twenty-four dollars ($24.00).
  • Motor vehicle extract (driving record) for the past five (5) years from the motor vehicle agency in the state.
  • A copy of applicant’s current operator’s license*
  • If the applicant has been in the military, a copy of his/her DD-214 or other documentation to indicate type of discharge.
  • Four (4) letters of character reference (licensee only) to be sent directly from the author to the Special Licensing &Firearms Unit. Letters must include the addresses and telephone numbers of the authors. Form letters are not acceptable and will be returned.
  • If the applicant is retired or separated from a local or state police department, a letter of discharge must be sent from the former employer to this department. This letter from said department must describe length of service, duties and date of retirement or separation.
  • A recent credit bureau report (licensee only).
  • A copy of high school/college transcript or G.E.D. One (1) state applicant card (green) and one (1) FBI applicant card (blue) with cashier’s check or money order, payable to the F.B.I. for twenty-four ($24.00).
  • If the applicant is currently under any psychiatric care, letter from the attending psychologist is to be sent to this office to verify the applicant’s ability to hold the sought after license.
  • If the applicant is not a U.S. citizen, proof of legal residency is required. Verification of submitted documents will be made through the Department of Immigration and Naturalization.
  • If the applicant is seeking a license in the private detective or security area, there is a five (5) year full time investigator’s or ten(10) year non-investigator’s requirement. Documentation from previous employers, verifying license eligibility, must be sent directly to the Special Licensing &Firearms Unit. These letters must indicate, in chronological order, the following: date of hire and termination; duties (what, when, where and how long) in each position; reason for leaving employment. All information from previous employer(s) must be sent directly from past employer(s) to the Special Licensing Firearms Unit. All letters must include telephone numbers and addresses of past employers.
  • Out of state applicants must submit written verification from the state agency regulating private detective/security companies stating the licensee’s name, type of license held, length of time license has been held and standing of applicant.
  • If a corporate license is being sought, a copy of the Certificate of Incorporation from the Connecticut Secretary of State must be submitted. If the corporate entity is an out-of-state corporation, a copy of the Certificate of Authority To Do Business as a Foreign Corporation from the Connecticut Secretary of State must be included. No corporate license will be issued until said documentation has been supplied to the Special Licensing & Firearms Unit.
  • Corporate Officials. All persons engaged as corporate officials must be registered with the Special Licensing & Forearms Unit (Corporate Official meaning president, vice president, secretary or treasurer). Failure to register a corporate official may result in your license not being issued. Refer to Connecticut general statue 29-154B. (Corporate officials may not work as an investigator, security guard, or body guard, unless he/she has been properly registered as an employee of the company.)
  • Each corporate official must complete the Application for License, indicating the he/she is a corporate official (only the individual acting as licensee will mark the box "licensee"). Each corporate official must submit two (2) 2" x 2" photographs, full face, and two(2) fingerprint cards.

WATCHMAN, GUARD OR PATROL SERVICE

What do I need to apply for a Watchman, Guard or Patrol service?

The applicant for a license as a watchman, guard or patrol service shall not be less than twenty-five years of age and of good moral character and shall have had at least five years experience as a supervisor or administrator in industrial security or in the employment of a private guard, watchman or patrol service or with a federal security agency or a state or organized municipal police department. If the applicant is a corporation, association or partnership, the person making the application shall be a member of the association or partnership or officer of the corporation, and meet the foregoing qualifications:

  • The enclosed application, (DPS-366-C) accurately completed;
  • Two (2) recent photographs,"2 x 2", full face;
  • Enclosed fingerprint cards (State &FBI) with a Cashiers Check or Money Order only, for each set of fingerprints submitted, payable to the F.B.I. for twenty-four dollars ($24.00);
  • Motor vehicle extract (driving record)for the past five (5) years from the motor vehicle agency in the state;
  • A copy of applicant’s current operator’s license;
  • If applicant has been in the military, a copy of his/her DD-214 or other documentation to indicate type of discharge.
  • Four (4) letters of character reference (licensee only) to be sent directly from the author to the Special Licensing &Firearms Unit. Letters must include the addresses and telephone numbers of the authors Form letters are no acceptable and will be returned.
  • If applicant is retired or separated from a local or state police department, a letter of discharge must be sent from the former employer to this department. This letter from said department must describe length of service, duties and date of retirement or separation.
  • A recent credit bureau report (licensee only).
  • A copy of high school/college transcript or G.E.D.
  • One state applicant card (green) and one FBI applicant card (blue) with cashier’s check or money order, payable to the F.B.I. for twenty-four dollars ($24.00).
  • If the applicant is currently under an psychiatric care, a letter from the attending psychologist is to be sent to this office to verify the applicant’s ability to hold the sought after license.
  • If the applicant is not a U.S. citizen, proof of legal residency is required. Verification of submitted documents will be made through the Department of Immigration and Naturalization.
  • If the applicant is seeking a license in the private detective or security area, there is a five (5) year full time investigator’s or a ten (10) year non-investigator’s requirement. Documentation from previous employers, verifying license eligibility, must be sent directly to the Special Licensing & Firearms Unit. These letter must indicate, in chronological order, the following: date of hire and termination;duties (what, when, where and how long) in each position; reason for leaving employment. All information from previous employer(s) must be sent directly from past employer(s) to the Special Licensing & Firearms Unit. All letters must include telephone numbers and addresses of past employers.
  • Out-of-state applicants must submit written verification from the state agency regulation private detective/security companies stating the licensee’s name, type of license held, length of time license has been held and standing of applicant.
  • If a corporate license is being sought, a copy of the Certificate of Incorporation from the Connecticut Secretary of State must be submitted. If the corporate entity is an out-of-state corporation, a copy of the Certificate of Authority To Do Business as a Foreign Corporation from the Connecticut Secretary of State must be included. No corporate license will be issued until said documentation has been supplied to the Special Licensing & Firearms Unit.
  • Corporate Officials. All persons engaged as corporate officials must be registered with the Special Licensing & Firearms Unit (corporate official meaning president, vice president, secretary or treasurer). Failure to register a corporate official may result in your license not being issued. Refer to Connecticut general statute 29-154B (corporate officials may not work as an investigator, security guard, or body guard, unless he/she has been properly registered as an employee of the company).
  • Each corporate official must complete the DPS-366-C, Application for Licensing, indicating the he/she is a corporate official (only the individual acting as license will mark the box "licensee"). Each corporate official must submit two (2) 2"x 2" photographs, full face and two (2) fingerprint cards.

 

© 2013 Rockville Fish & Game Club. All Rights Reserved. Send email to webmaster@rockvillefishandgameclub.com.